PDA

View Full Version : Reel Mower

hmartin
03-24-2009, 03:24 AM
Does anyone know of a reputable dealer that sales and services reel mowers in Memphis, TN? I am interested in Tru-cut, Mclane, or Trimmer that is about 25".

jasonlandscape
03-25-2009, 12:46 AM
come down to ga, metro atlanta area

go to http://www.reelmowers.net/sales.php4

they have really nice mowers...they just came out witha 25" legacy

they have a 30" legacy which is a really stout mower. waaaayyyy better than tru-cut

hmartin
03-26-2009, 11:35 PM
Thanks for the reply. I have never used a reel mower before and don't know of anybody using one in my immediate area. I want to cut my lawn and 1 other person's with the reel mower. I feel like I can handle the backlapping and blade adjustments but don't want to delve into reel mowers if there isn't a reputable dealer within an hour drive of my home.

My lawn is a little over an acre, so I probably wouldn't use the reel mower for the whole lot.

How fast does a single gang reel mower travel in comparison to a 21" mower? I don't like seeing the tire tracks of a 21" mower in my bermuda, and my JD 757 60" cuts nice but 1.75" is about a low as it will go.

Does anyone know if a Exmark Turf Tracer 36" WB (or other WB) will cut bermuda to around 1.25" and give a nice cut?

I am also looking at a Exmark Laser AS 48". I believe that it is supposed to be able to cut down to 1". The deck is about the same width as the wheels, so it should be able to cut low and handle some small surface variations without scalping.

MnDLawn
03-26-2009, 11:39 PM
I don't mean to sound stupid or hijack the thread, but what are the pros of a reel mower? My grandfather used one but thats the only experience I have ever had with one.

jasonlandscape
03-26-2009, 11:47 PM
A REEL Type mower is the Real way to cut grass. It actually cuts the grass rather than chopping the grass. With a rotary mower u only have one blade that does the cutting.