PDA

View Full Version : 21" Stripes on Rye

dwc
03-24-2009, 11:07 PM
Here is a pic of my bermuda lawn overseeded with annual rye. As you can tell my neighbor's lawns are dormant bermuda. This was mowed with my 21" John Deere JX75. Sorry its not the best pic, I just took a quick pic with my iphone. :cool2:

sslopok
03-24-2009, 11:30 PM
Dang your lawn looks great! Makes your neighbors' lawns look like heck..
good work

MileHigh
03-24-2009, 11:48 PM
Makes your neighbors' lawns look like heck..
good work

you can say that again.

A-Land
03-24-2009, 11:52 PM
Hmmm annual rye? What's the plan once the growth shuts off?

dwc
03-25-2009, 12:01 AM
thanks guys! As for the rye I will wait til we get temps in the 90's and scalp it down to about 1" and it will die and let the bermuda take over. I've been doing this for several years now and this method works well for me.

tyler_mott85
03-25-2009, 12:15 AM
JX75s are great mowers. Do you have some kind of roller on it or is that just the plain old set-up?

Looks nice! I bet your neighbors hate you lol.

A-Land
03-25-2009, 12:16 AM
thanks guys! As for the rye I will wait til we get temps in the 90's and scalp it down to about 1" and it will die and let the bermuda take over. I've been doing this for several years now and this method works well for me.

So you seed the entire thing every year just to get it green a few weeks early? Seems like a lot of work to me...

Jason Rose
03-25-2009, 12:19 AM
Annual rye is usually green all winter. You seed it in the fall once the bermuda has gone dormant.

Now, in Oklahoma, does the rye grow and need mowed all winter, or only in early spring? I know further south it grows all winter...

dwc
03-25-2009, 12:28 AM
its just a regular jx75 no roller or anything. It stripes really well. I don't hardly have to water it because of all the drool from my neighbors! LOL It is for sure the talk of the neighborhood.