PDA

View Full Version : Is this estimate too high?

bzmillerboy
03-25-2009, 01:30 AM
I am just getting into the lawn care business and one of my first jobs I landed (or hope to land) is a huge mulch and spring cleaning at a residence.

I measured all his mulch beds and came out to 9558 square feet (I know it's a triple lot and huge house). At 2" dept I figured about 59 yards - 9 yards for plants and rocks, so 50 yards to lay. He wanted 708 feet re-edged and I needed to cut down all the dead flowers and shrubs.

After sending this to him he came back and felt it was too steep? I'm in KY.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

MATERIALS:
Black Dye Mulch ($35.50 per yard, delivery included) 50 yards $1,775.00

TOTAL MATERIALS: $1,775.00

LABOR:
Spring Clean-Up: ($35 per hour) 20 hrs $700.00
Cut dead landscaping and dispose
Pickup and dispose of garbage
Pickup and dispose of debris and tree limbs
Vacuum lawn and dispose of leaves
Clean up and rebuild rock beds
Re-Edge Mulch Beds ($.80 a foot, includes final trimming) 708 feet $566.40
Edging Volume Discount (-$.30 a foot) -$212.40
Lay Mulch ($35 per yard) 50 yards $1,750.00
Lay Mulch Volume Discount (-$5.00 a yard) -$250.00

TOTAL LABOR: $1,854.00

TOTAL ESTIMATE $3,629.00

newtostone
03-25-2009, 01:59 AM
I ran my numbers and your in the middle depending on the job and what other work you do for him/her. Not too bad but I am not sure of your area and labor seems a bit low.

ALLPro Landscaping
03-25-2009, 02:11 AM
No I dont think its too steep, 35 per hour wow ill charge 65 and up per hour, think dollar a min, if you are just starting out and have no over head, ask him what he had in mind for a price, it should be around if not more then what your charging him. then re figure your price and see if you can cut some off, take his numbers and tell him youll get back to him within 24

grasschopperofchicago
03-25-2009, 02:30 AM