PDA

View Full Version : 72" walkbehinds


towtruck212
03-25-2009, 05:48 PM
Does anyone use a 72" walkbehind on residental lawns and how small of lawn have you used them on?

lawnboy2068
03-25-2009, 05:58 PM
We had 2 or 3 of them back in the mid 90's. I forget the exact amount, its been awhile. SCAG units with 25hp Kohlers and velkies. Units worked great and we used them on just about every property we had. Small or large. Some properties it only took 3 passes and the front yards were done. Traded them in for Toro Groundmasters. More operator comfort, that's all. Personally I wish we still had them. They were very versatile and would cut anything. Now we have just our 62" units left along with the Groudmasters.

James

DA Quality Lawn & YS
03-25-2009, 06:51 PM
72" for resis? Way too big. Sometimes I feel my 36" mower is too big on those 1/4 acre lots.

newtostone
03-25-2009, 07:27 PM
..........................................

towtruck212
03-25-2009, 07:49 PM
here in Pennsylvania lots range from a postage stamp to acres so I think a 72"
would be handy.

LB1234
03-25-2009, 08:39 PM
there was a guy on this site called Rodfather but haven't heard from in a long time. I believe if you search you can find his responses to why he uses bigger WB units and why. I believed Ferris was what he used.

mowerbrad
03-25-2009, 09:38 PM
They still have 72" wb's? I thought that no one makes a 72 any more and only have 60" as the biggest.

towtruck212
03-25-2009, 09:48 PM
the one i have is like a 2000 year i dont know if they make new ones. I think it is awesome a 72" walkbehind.

lifetree
03-25-2009, 10:51 PM
72" for resis ? Way too big. ...

I have to agree with this !!

dcondon
03-25-2009, 10:59 PM
I use a 72" ZTR on every lawn I cut. Some of the lawns are only 1/4 acre and I have no problem.

DLCS
03-25-2009, 11:06 PM
I use a 72" ZTR on every lawn I cut. Some of the lawns are only 1/4 acre and I have no problem.



I don't use the 72" on every lawn I cut but I do use the 72" on small residential lawns.