PDA

View Full Version : Thinking about jumping in...

cjohns55
03-30-2009, 12:49 PM
Hi everyone!

I am new to the site and I have not yet officially started my own lawn care business. I currently work in the development/construction industry but we all know how that is going right now -- it sucks! The company that I work for is really struggling but my boss is very optimistic. I'm all for being optimistic but I also like to be realistic as well. I have knots in my stomach that one day he is going to walk in and say...that's it we fought a good fight and we can't make it.

I have been seriously thinking about starting my own thing. I have always had a great passion for being in the yard and having a great looking yard. Over the past years I have really become an avid learner of lawn care and how one should take care of the yard, shrubs, and trees.

This weekend, I got pricing on a Scag 36" walk behind, Stihl BR 380 backpack blower, and Stihl FS 80 trimmer for $3,500 for the package. The dealer stated that the Scag is a 2008 model so it is roughly $300 cheaper than 2009 model. I did not want to start out using my own personal home equipment which includes a 21" Sears mower and Lowes blower/trimmer for fear of breakage leading to down time. I have no idea if this is a good price.

I have 2 customers, my next door neighbor, and one up the street. I also get a ton of other neighbors who take time out to stop and admire my yard as they pass by. Now don't get me wrong... just because someone admires my yard, I don't think that is the only reason I should start a lawn care business. However, I have always had a great love for working in the yard and I take great pride in my work. Lately this pit I feel in my stomach about my job makes me think that if I'm going to be worried, I can at least put it on my own terms.

So in short what do you guys think about:

1. The $3500 pricing that the dealer is offering for the Scag 36", Stihl backpack, and blower?