PDA

View Full Version : gopher software is junk!!!!!


man of stihl
04-06-2009, 10:22 PM
got my new gopher pro software last week. it wont run.. there isnt a phone number i can call to get help. i emailed them. got one back to run this diagnostic thing and email them back



they email me there so called solution!!!


guess what?? it doesnt work again:dizzy:


im a pipe welder and i own a landscaping company.

i dont have a degree in computer science nor do i have time to mess with this.

i bought it. click install and it should run end of story... or how bout even a phone number to call to get some help???



lance

1MajorTom
04-06-2009, 11:54 PM
check your pm's.

bohiaa
04-07-2009, 09:56 AM
return it and get Lawnpro, Gopher is a PITA

landscaper22
04-07-2009, 04:57 PM
I wish I had caught you before you got gopher. I have had it since 2005 I think. I really liked it and it did everything I wanted. However, sometime around 2007 they lost their focus. It has been forever since they have had any updates to the software. The software will not run on my desktop any longer. It keeps saying something about a corrupt file. The only thing that saved me was it still works on my laptop. Most of the time when I contact customer service they are really vague. I do what they ask and they never contact me back to let me know what is going on. So, I e-mail them again, and get some other short explanation. I don't know if they will give you a refund, but I would try. They could have a really good product, but for some reason they have lost their focus. They are more concerned about dumb lawn care videos on their web site than the software.

IN2MOWN
04-07-2009, 05:30 PM
I like Gopher but to be honest its more of a entry type software.

Ill be switching to Groundskeeper here soon.

AztlanLC
04-07-2009, 05:41 PM
They could have a really good product, but for some reason they have lost their focus. They are more concerned about dumb lawn care videos on their web site than the software.

I have said the exact same thing since 2002, do a search on youtube about ghopehaul or something like that and you will find some really stupid videos they just don't care about their software anymore.
I don't know if they are sponsors of this site anymore but if it were my company I definitely wouldn't be related to then at all.
And for some reason lot's of times that I have expressed my opinion on this site my reply gets deleted if that is going to be the case again at least tell me what I did or said wrong.

TJLANDS
04-07-2009, 06:23 PM
Been using Gopher for 5 years now. Had problems for a while when switching to Vista. OK now.
Tracks 5 crews, 1200 customers, fert, scheduling , routing, seems OK to me.
But I do agree there are more sophisticated programs out there.There just are none easier to run. I might look to change next year as I do not like their customer service thru emails only. I do back up my info 2X a day.
Is it Vista that you are trying to run it on?

AztlanLC
04-07-2009, 06:34 PM
How can you manage 1200 cstomers in gopher, do you keep track of your fert applications on it? when I started doing fert applic. gopher was useless to me.

landscaper22
04-07-2009, 07:22 PM
I have said the exact same thing since 2002, do a search on youtube about ghopehaul or something like that and you will find some really stupid videos they just don't care about their software anymore.
I don't know if they are sponsors of this site anymore but if it were my company I definitely wouldn't be related to then at all.
And for some reason lot's of times that I have expressed my opinion on this site my reply gets deleted if that is going to be the case again at least tell me what I did or said wrong.

I think they were sponsors at one time, but I don't see their name on here now. I don't know why a reply would be deleted. Maybe because they were a sponsor. But we are just trying to share our experiences and help out our fellow members.
As for the other responses...Gopher is a decent software. I like many faetures on the program. As long as it is running fine, all is good. But when you begin to have problems, you will see what I am talking about.

TJLANDS
04-07-2009, 09:29 PM
How can you manage 1200 cstomers in gopher, do you keep track of your fert applications on it? when I started doing fert applic. gopher was useless to me.

Managing alot of customers is easy as managing 20.
I use the basic Service tab split up for fert applications,
for instance one of my service tabs is Round 1. 23-2-5 plus dimension etc.

Why couldnt you use it for fert?

LB1234
04-07-2009, 11:46 PM
And for some reason lot's of times that I have expressed my opinion on this site my reply gets deleted if that is going to be the case again at least tell me what I did or said wrong.

One of the bad things about this site. As good as it is for info, it seems you can't say anything negative about sponsors without getting it deleted. Kinda defeats the purpose of what LCO's are experiencing with products.

The good news is if gopher is no longer a sponsor...which I don't think they are since that "guy" isn't hijacking all the posts anymore about gopher this and gopher that..this shouldn't get deleted.:clapping:

AztlanLC
04-07-2009, 11:58 PM
Managing alot of customers is easy as managing 20.
I use the basic Service tab split up for fert applications,
for instance one of my service tabs is Round 1. 23-2-5 plus dimension etc.

Why couldnt you use it for fert?

How you keep track of your chemicals for dec.
How you manage to inform all neighbors when you are going to apply.
Where you keep track of weather conditions on applications.

Ben'sLawnCare
04-08-2009, 12:02 AM
I like gopher software. I like the way it does invoices and estimates.

ChrisGA
04-08-2009, 01:25 AM
if your gopher is not working make sure the Firebird 2.0 is installed on your computer. It is included in with the download of the gopher software. Go to C/program files/ditech/gopher/and click on the firebird2.0 icon

I personally like gopher for what I use it for.

TJLANDS
04-08-2009, 08:43 AM
How you keep track of your chemicals for dec.
How you manage to inform all neighbors when you are going to apply.
Where you keep track of weather conditions on applications.

We dont have to inform neighbors, ..yet. How do you inform them, postcard,letter? Probably a good way to pick up new customers.
Weather conditions are on the application report.

AztlanLC
04-08-2009, 09:29 AM
Are you sure you don't have to inform neighbors? lucky you.
Weather conditions are on the application report? which part how can you access that information from gopher? How about your DEC report for chemical use?
We have to send a letter or call them 48 prior to any application.

I'm sorry with all my questions and also sound a little skeptical but I honestly don't believe a person with 1200 accounts can manage their business with such a lame program.
are those 1200 accounts just fert or you also do lawn maintenance for them?

TJLANDS
04-08-2009, 10:24 AM
Are you sure you don't have to inform neighbors? lucky you.
Weather conditions are on the application report? which part how can you access that information from gopher? How about your DEC report for chemical use?
We have to send a letter or call them 48 prior to any application.

I'm sorry with all my questions and also sound a little skeptical but I honestly don't believe a person with 1200 accounts can manage their business with such a lame program.
are those 1200 accounts just fert or you also do lawn maintenance for them?

In case you didn't notice, my bus is in NJ not NY.

I said 1200 customers, NO they are not all Fert customers.
No they are not all Lawn maintenance customers.
No They are not all "full service" Customers.
Yes some are inactive.
Some are landscape only. Clean-ups mulch etc.
Some are snow only.

My last Pesticide Control Program Inspection was 2007.

No I don't use Gopher to keep track of Chemical usage.
Yes Gopher is used to Invoice and Schedule Applications.
Yes weather conditions, wind etc, listed on applicator report for that day.
Yes it is a Hand written report(log book) , not Gopher Generated

No I don't think it is a Lame program.

ffemtmcd
04-08-2009, 10:41 AM
How you keep track of your chemicals for dec.
How you manage to inform all neighbors when you are going to apply.
Where you keep track of weather conditions on applications.

Inform the neighbors?? Reason 4568 I don't live in NY! Sorry

Frue
04-08-2009, 06:46 PM
I like the program myself! been using it for 3 months.

S.I.
04-08-2009, 08:47 PM
I've had gopher for 3 years (I think) without problems. Simple enough even my wife can use it, detailed enough I don't have to use 3 different programs for different services.

I tried Lawn Pro prior to Gopher and honestly have no good things to say for it.

man of stihl
04-09-2009, 10:52 PM
yes i do have vista.


everyother computer software i have ever used.

you click install and bam it works.

i dont really know how or want to mess with this.


im sure i couldnt return it. soo if anyone has any suggestions on what to do let me here them.

thanks,


lance