PDA

View Full Version : Commercial Bid, need Help fast, please read

fastrunner
03-25-2002, 07:28 PM
hi, heres the deal. I have a chance to bid on this medical center and i measured out all the turf area with a measuring wheel. It came out to a grand total of 53,500 sq.ft of turf area. This turf is not a crappy turf, all irrigated and fertilized regularly.. so it will be THICK!. difficulty is probably 5/10. pretty wide open but does have landscaping beds and trees. I know it only about 1 1/4 acre but it just seemed larger by the eye until i measured it. The mowing includes trimming and blowing off all clippings off sideways and parking lot. will have to be mowed every thursday. I figured it will take me about 1 hour 15-20 minutes with 2 guys. I bid $130.00 on it and i am thinking about calling them up and proposing a new bid for $110.00. Cause i am not that experienced in bidding and think i overdid this one. ANY HELP IS GREATLY APPRECIATED. thanks again guys. Jeff

fastrunner
03-25-2002, 07:51 PM
Man, i really need help with this!

heygrassman
03-25-2002, 08:00 PM
What kind of equipment are you using? 2 guys 1hr 20 min seems a little long but I am not able to see the lot. At 1.75 per 1K sq ft I get $94.5 before trimming.. I do not know your cost structure.

I am still new at this so take for what it is worth... $.02.

jf

Currier
03-25-2002, 08:00 PM
I know the "second guessing" feeling! I have second guessed myself twice this year thinking about a lower price...turns out it went to someone who charged MUCH lower, so low there is no way I would have mowed it for their price.