PDA

View Full Version : Help with first Job

Litemeup
04-18-2009, 01:17 PM
:waving:Hi All,
I'm new to the world of landscape lighting. I do some landscaping and Maintiance. I have a customer that wants to replace their lighting and could use some help picking one that is dependable - low maintance - will last.
the Hubbell's (that i did not install ) are 2 years old and they have nothing but trouble from them. So thanks for any help you guys can give.
they have one under each large Shrub and one uplight at far right tree.Total of 4 lights. This is my first Post so go easy on me guys.*trucewhiteflag*

David Gretzmier
04-18-2009, 01:29 PM
ah, such a loaded question. everyone has thier first job, so I'll help you out. try to do some research on HOW to do this job as far as wiring ,connections, fixture placement, load and voltage ranges. Check out your nearest irrigation supplier and get in a beginner class that is offered by several landscape light vendors. After you know HOW to do this, THEN start looking at the WHAT on products. The best products in the world will fail miserably if you wire this system wrong, period.

I know, I know, it is way more fun to go find pro-quality stuff and gee whiz over it. try and separate yourself from everyone else and learn how to wire and install properly before you stick one fixture or lay one wire in the ground.

Your local Irrigation supply company will stock some line of fixtures or trans you can use to install. Please learn how to do this first and you will create a reputation for doing good lighting work.

oh, and if Lowes or Home depot sells it, don't use it.

Litemeup
04-18-2009, 01:47 PM
the customer need this by May 15th.