PDA

View Full Version : getting my first mower

nevar
04-21-2009, 06:20 PM
so i am ready to start my own thing, tired of working for someone who isn't ME. i just got a long bed ranger and am ready to get a mower. my main question is, if I am just starting out, should i get a commercial mower or a homeowner? i can get a honda HRX216 for $1111. or should i get a crap mower and get a commercial after i made enough money this summer? i am thinking it will pay off to have a decent mower which will make work faster and more efficient. any serious opinions welcome, thanks

ALC-GregH
04-21-2009, 06:34 PM
In your business plan, you should have a figure that tells you what you can spend. I take it you don't have one right? You need to make one and follow it.

Hell on Blades
04-21-2009, 06:38 PM
:nono:DO NOT START YOUR BUSINESS ON CREDIT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:nono:

You should absolutely buy whatever you can AFFORD, not what you want or think you need.

Fins a way to make all cash purchases and we'll go from there...

nevar
04-22-2009, 12:00 AM
ok, so i know lawn mowing is the bread and butter, especially to start, i will take any job though. i have some pruners, loppers, shears, other hand tools, saws, chainsaw, trash can, rakes.. i just got a truck. my goal is to get the following:
1.mower
2.backpack blower
3.string trimmer
4. 8' orchard ladder

i can afford the $1K mower but then that's the only thing i'd have to start with. and now in spring and summer that's mostly what i'll be doing. i have a few clients and some landscapers that have clients they would pass to me.

so i guess my question is should i get a handheld blower, a 400 mower, a homeowner trimmer and the ladder; and hope that the blower, trimmer and mower last thru summer OR

just get a nice mower and as i make some money back get the nicer equipment? i have this choice. i dont have any mowers or trimmers of my own so i'm just trying to make a wise decision. any more help is appreciated

IHusky