PDA

View Full Version : How do I keep my mower from moving?????

rmcouto
04-21-2009, 10:21 PM
I am in my 4th year of a small landscape business and finally purchased a 48 inch walk behind. I also purchased a new 5x8 trailer. My question is how do I keep my mower from rolling around while driving. I do put it in gear, but it seems to still move a bit.. Any suggestions???

weeble67
04-21-2009, 10:26 PM
I don't know about Mass, but in Ohio state law requires you secure your load. I use Pro Locker, but there are plenty of other methods. At a minimum I would suggest you use ratchet straps.

deerewashed
04-21-2009, 10:27 PM
dont put it in gear it may screw it up. screw a 2x4 right bihind and infront of the drive tire so you can just drive it up and over the first block and fit the drive tire snug in between the 2 2x4s

doubleedge
04-21-2009, 11:21 PM
I would highly recommend fastraps (http://www.fastrap.us/index.htm). The link takes you to their main site, but you can get them cheaper at northern tool (I think).

EagleGrounds
04-22-2009, 10:58 AM
I don't know about Mass, but in Ohio state law requires you secure your load. I use Pro Locker, but there are plenty of other methods. At a minimum I would suggest you use ratchet straps.

You forgot just a little bit, you only need 1 ratchet strap for it to qualify as secured.

I use ratchet straps, but i am working on designing my own latch system that should make it quick and secure.

I would always reccomend securing it, espcally on a little trailer like that, it will sway alot, the last thing you want is for your mower to sway with it and then tip off!

JABBERS
04-22-2009, 11:41 AM
You will mess up the transmission. I know because about 15 years ago it happened to me.

4.3mudder
04-22-2009, 08:16 PM
All my stuff has 2x4's in the floor and hold everything. No one arond here straps their stuff down for a fact.

GravelyNut
04-22-2009, 09:25 PM