PDA

View Full Version : Business Consulting Service?

PR0 TURF
04-22-2009, 07:31 PM
Has anyone ever used a business management consulting service? I am considering using the George S. May company to help find inefficiencies in my business. Just looking for some feedback about them or other consulting companies...

Thank you!

Big C
04-22-2009, 08:31 PM
One my customers owns a business consulting service and gives me free tips....it's very helpful.

Looking Good Lawn Service
04-22-2009, 08:43 PM
I'm not sure what the service may address, however, I have a degree in Business Management, and can offer advice in that field if you have questions, I am currently wrapping up my 2nd bachelors in Business Management, should be done next semester. More than likely they will address three areas, Accounting practices, human resources, and other things like how you manage the way things (jobs) get done in your business. Best of luck, some times most things are common sense, sometimes not.

Fvstringpicker
04-23-2009, 01:10 AM
Check with the Chamber of Commerce and see if they have a small business development center. If so the services are often free.

lawnangel1
04-23-2009, 09:14 AM
A big company I worked for a long time ago used a service similar to this to find inefficencies. The owners loved these consultants but all the managers hated them. They find a lot of obvious stuff but they also want you to practice things that arent very practical for a lawn care biz sometimes.

Az Gardener
04-23-2009, 12:38 PM
If you are committed to follow their advise then it may be worth you time and money but I have never seen a company follow the directions they were given. I have been with a few good sized companies in the past that had this kind of thing done, I cost a small fortune and the reports ended up on a shelf.

Its a lot like losing weight "well I paid all this money for this diet program how come I'm not losing weight???"