PDA

View Full Version : Crumbling retaining wall - pictures inside.

Y2K
04-22-2009, 08:43 PM
Hello everyone. Found this forum today and have been reading non-stop and learning. Gotta admit, I am not a professional, just a homeowner with a big retaining wall problem. Before I hire a pro I wanted to educate myself a little and understand my options. I am in MA and we purchased a house in 2003. The lot is sloping from front to back. So a large retaining wall was built to level the concrete patio and put a pool in. It was done in early 1980s. I suspect the drainage was not done correctly and concrete blocks used were poor quality plus time has taken it's toll so the wall has been slowly crumbling and it is getting worse after each winter. The wall is 80' long and 5' tall. It is about 15' long on each side. Below are some pictures so you can see it from all sides as well as specific problems with the blocks.

http://www.yefim.com/images/yard/1.jpg

http://www.yefim.com/images/yard/2.jpg

http://www.yefim.com/images/yard/3.jpg

http://www.yefim.com/images/yard/4.jpg

http://www.yefim.com/images/yard/5.jpg

http://www.yefim.com/images/yard/6.jpg

So what are my options?

1. Take the old blocks out and rebuild it? This is a huge job and would require a very heavy equipment.

2. Build a new wall around it with appropriate drainage and fill the cracks with gravel or something?

3. Any other options?

Thanks for any advice.

amscapes03
04-22-2009, 09:10 PM
First off - Yikes!!! Curious about a few things: 1. Septic or sewer? 2. What is the access to the back yard like? 3. How far back is your property line from the retaining wall? 4. You mentioned that the patio is cement. Is the patio/deck around the pool cement or pavers? A picture or two looking down at the pool/wall from your wood deck would help too.

Y2K
04-22-2009, 09:20 PM
Yup, yikes sums it up pretty good :)

1. Town sewer.
2. Access is easy from either side of the house.
3. Property line is pretty far - 60' or so.