PDA

View Full Version : Patio Installation


shild
04-28-2009, 03:55 PM
How do you guys dig out the base for your patio? Do you worry about getting the subsoil completely level or just level it when you put in the base material?

GMTA
04-28-2009, 04:21 PM
1) Skid steer/shovels

2) No need to get the subsoil "completely level" but you should dig realitively the same or to a level depth to ensure an accurate amount of base product being installed. ie: if you need a min. 6" base and you under dig in one area and over dig in another your base depth will be all over the charts according to depth and possibly less than what is needed and therefore less stability in certain areas.

shild
04-28-2009, 04:34 PM
Thanks for the reply! I usually use my sod cutter to get the top 2.5 inches and then my loader tractor/shovels for the rest. I just wanted to make sure there wasn't some secret that I didnt' know about! haha

AllHardscaping
04-30-2009, 02:54 PM
For installs I would usually use a mini skid. I would get it as level as possible without wasting time. Keeping it pretty accurate saves you from disposing too much soil and buying too much base.

ParkviewNursery
04-30-2009, 05:09 PM
i wave my wand .......and vamanos......done

shild
04-30-2009, 05:16 PM
i wave my wand .......and vamanos......done

I'll take 2 of those wands please...you name the price. :-)