PDA

View Full Version : Estimate Help!?!?!?!?!

lawnpro2210
04-28-2009, 04:51 PM
So i got a call from a lady today asking me if i would be interested in mowing her lawn this summer.Of course i said i would and asked how big it was.She replied 7acres.I have never done a lawn this big before.I have done one 3acre lawn that i charged $90 so i was thinking mabey around $180 to mow hers.Im not quiet shure though. im thinking $30 per acre and then knock off 1Acre to keep the cost down But i want your opinions.I have not seen the lawn yet but from what the lady says its a full 7Acres of lawn that needs to be mowed.I think i can do it i have a commercial 48'' toro proline so i think i can take it on.Replys would be greatly appriciated.Thanks Mike

Ruben Rocha
04-28-2009, 05:21 PM
7 acres is a lot of property.
If it is mostly open pasture then you could cut your price some, but if it is cross fenced and or has a lot of trees to trim around then don't change your price scheme. 7 acres is a long walk with a string trimmer.

MysticLandscape
04-28-2009, 06:16 PM
I wouldn't be caught dead cutting 7 acres with a 48 in WB. Esp for $180.

David Haggerty
04-28-2009, 06:47 PM
I wouldn't be caught dead cutting 7 acres with a 48 in WB. Esp for $180.

I read your post and thought "Heart-attack!" It's entirely possible to get caught dead trying to mow that with a WB. How long would it take to mow 7 acres with a WB? All day? More?
I have some 7-8 acre lawns and sometimes when the big mower don't run we have to mow them with the two 72" mowers. It seems like it takes forever!

But I think the price is fair, even a little generous. We Buckeyes get paid a little less than you folks in New England.

Charles
04-28-2009, 07:18 PM