PDA

View Full Version : Owners or users of great dane surf. 36

LP
03-31-2002, 12:46 PM
I completed a search and posted a thread yesterday, but still have been unable to get enough advice to feel comfortable about purchasing one, any-one who can offer advice would be greatly appreciated( It seems to meet all of my present needs but I know very little about great dane).

Thanks in advance for any help!!

chariot
03-31-2002, 12:57 PM
I have a Great Dane Chariot, bought new in 1998. I can not say anything bad about it, except that they are now owned by John Deere. This is bad according to friends of mine that have not had good luck with Deeres, they say they could be better made and that parts seemed expensive. I have no first hand experience with Deere. Although I have heard that they plan to keep making Danes as totally different machines from Deere a guy that works in a shop around here said that they were going to experiment with the Deere decks on Danes. I don't know. I can only say that I like my Chariot, I know people who have surfers and others who have scampers and they are all pleased. I would say that if it fits the job you need it for then you should have no concerns with the quality.

johnhenry
03-31-2002, 01:30 PM
Great Dane is a fabulous machine. Only problem is john deere owns them now. And that doesnt bode well for the future. But so far they havent even made changes to the dane. And sometimes no change is a good thing. But if you purchase one you will be happy

danlawnser
03-31-2002, 03:37 PM
I will only buy great danes from now on. It is like with any brand u go with. I got a scamper 48 and a super 52. I try to run the super most of the time. Wonderful machine and is somewhat better on hills than the scamper.

jkkalbers
04-01-2002, 09:52 AM