PDA

View Full Version : Best trailer for skid steer???

Kidder
05-12-2009, 09:29 AM
Hi guys, I am new to the site. I have been doing lawn and snow for 11 years and just over the past year have really develloped my business. I am in the market for a skid steer and the first thing that I want to buy is a skid steer trailer. I know that I want a gooseneck, because they are made to pull better. My dilemna is i dont know if a deck over is better or if a 14K car hauler is better. The way I see it is a car hauler keeps the load lower, but if I get a deck over i can go with three axles (21K) and potentially pull 2 skids down the road. Thoughts. I found a Load Max trailer that looks really good but just want to know which make seems to be the best. I live in Winnipeg, Canada and we get heavy salting during the winter months so a powder coat would probably be essential. Thanks.

DaveVB
05-12-2009, 11:36 AM
Are you saying car hauler in design? I'm sure you've seen skid loader specific trailers as I have, but I never looked to see if they made one long enough to pull two skids.
Really depends on overall use. Will it be only for the skids or for hauling during the off periods. The deck over allows you to load stuff with your skids where the car hauler limits you in use.
I have had a 12k deck over/bumper hook donated to us and won't let the bosses trade for a true skid trailer cause I can load the whole trailer from the side. It was donated to haul the skid, but I use it more for hauling stuff than moving the skid. A lot handier.

Kidder
05-12-2009, 02:17 PM
Yes, I mean a car hauler design with the deck between the fenders. I would go for a 24 foot trailer in either the deck over or the GN car hauler. But for pulling 2 skids I would need a 21K tri axle trailer. Load Max has one that I am very interested in. How is Load Max for quality?

wellbuilt
05-12-2009, 07:35 PM