PDA

View Full Version : I can't sleep- Zoysia Brown Patch

djbattaglia1
05-12-2009, 07:54 PM
I need your professioal assistance. I am an avid landscaper and gardener and this spring I find myself with a huge problem as I try to keep a cool head.

I think I have a bad case of brown patch in my emerald zoysia-and I have gotten plenty of opinions.

1. I just hired a lawn service in this Atlanta suburb and have had 2 fungicide applications. I am being told to stay patient.

2. I contacted the coop extension but have not submitted soil samples.

3. I have gotten over 5 quotes and opinions from dethatching, scalping and aerating to the good folks at Level Lawn to do a complete restore with top dressing. These quotes for 4200 sq feet go from $240 for minimal cut to $1000 for full deal.

4. The large area in the last picture is a depression that greens up late because of water retention. Should I over dress with river sand and build it up?

Should I approach this myself?

1. Go to Depot and rent a BlueBird power rake? Is it too late to do this? May 12th. Will it rip up the lawn? Is this too destructive?

2. Should I scalp zoysia- I am reading that this is not a prefered way of approaching the problem.

3. Should I just keep my cool? Re sod? Arg! The lawn has greened up over the past 4 weeks- but is there hope? I have tried hand raking some areas. Should I over sand?

I love my lawn and I am heartbroken.

Your help is much appreciated!

cgaengineer
05-12-2009, 11:24 PM
I forwarded a link to this post to a friend of mine with what appears to be the same problem...maybe he will chime in...Dave...are you out there?

midsouth grass master
05-13-2009, 07:58 PM