PDA

View Full Version : how to drain fuel?

verant
05-15-2009, 08:57 PM
I have a kawisaki 25 horse, everride warrior. I need to drain the fuel because it is old and causing engine problems. My manual says to remove the sediment bowl. and then put a pan under the fuel valve to receive the drained fuel. Where is this..i have never done this before and my manual isnt showing a diagram. I guess i could just idle the engine until it is empty, but id if thats okay. any help here please. thanks guys!

DT Lawn Care
05-15-2009, 09:05 PM
If you have a in-line fuel shut-off, this will go better without spilling anything, but if you don't, it will spill a little at first.

Step 1: if you have a shut-off, shut it off.

Step 2: if you don't have a shut-off begin here (duh). Loosen the hose clamp on your gasline that goes into the carburetor.

Step 3: pull the gasline off of the carburetor and drain it into your gas cans or whatever you're going to put it into. then turn your shut-off valve back on to drain. problem solved.

Breezmister
05-15-2009, 11:55 PM
Step 2: if you don't have a shut-off begin here (duh). Loosen the hose clamp on your gasline that goes into the carburetor.

If you have a Vise Grips, needle nose style even better, use this to close off the fuel line. Just open the jaws about a 1/4 inch so that you do not crush the fuel line. For smaller fuel lines, I use a roach clip. I mean a hemostat...:rolleyes:

verant
05-16-2009, 12:20 AM
well i drained the fuel and put new fuel in and some fuel additive. ran the engine, same problem. the engine is missing, especially after running it for a few minutes. the engine dies when the blades are engaged also. I believe this is a coil or spark plug issue? The carbs are clean, and the old fuel should be out of there by now as i ran the engne for a bit with new fuel after i drained the old stuff

Greenwrench
05-16-2009, 12:33 AM