PDA

View Full Version : Website Newbie, Want to be

Natural Impressions
05-18-2009, 11:20 PM
I have been putting off getting a web site for a few years now.

What are the pros and cons about it?
What is the averagecost of a website and how much increase in clients has anyone had??

I'm just curious because I don't the $1000's of dollars like I think it could cost for 2 more clients.
I guess I just need someone to sell me on the idea. Thanks

Inspira
05-19-2009, 07:23 AM
I'll get the con out of the way first - if you want it done right and have it look professional, it's expensive. You'll get people telling you that you can do it yourself - use Yahoo's sitebuilder or Optimum Online's homespace thing, and it will be fine - and that may very well be the case. But I've had many clients come to me after trying that, unhappy with their results - and at that point, they've invested their time, which we all know can be very expensive in itself.

I just had this exact conversation with a client in the container business a few months ago. He spent around $200 per month on an ad in the NJ yellow pages. That ad was 1/8 page, black and white. Pretty much just his logo and a phone number. Seen by potentially thousands, though.

A website is a full-color, enriched experience seen potentially by MILLIONS. Full description of your services, image slideshow, contact form, etc. And once that initial setup is done, the ongoing maintenance is negligible. I can set up my clients so they're able to update their sites themselves without screwing up the design - or if they do need me, it's not expensive to have me update now and then.