PDA

View Full Version : My Trailer stolen this morning!!!

theyatesies
05-21-2009, 07:32 PM
I am a school teacher and I left for school at 7:10 and my wife left at 7:20 and the neighbors say it was there at 7:45 but not there at 8:10am. It was changed thru the wheels and locked with a bolt cutter proof lock. They cut the chain and away they went. No equipment was on thank god. We live in a good safe neiborhood. If it can happen here then it can happen anywhere.
Any suggestions are securing the new trailer I now have to buy?

Surferbum21
05-21-2009, 07:35 PM
welcome to the club. put it in garage, backyard, or rent enclosed storage.

ZTR_Diesel
05-21-2009, 08:23 PM
Wow. Sorry that happened, at least as you said there was no equipment on it. I don't have a good reccommendation beyond leaving it out of site, etc.

Strange, but I see trailers in my neighborhood left unattended and unlocked all the time. Seems like an invitation to me, strange they don't lock them down better.

Richard Martin
05-21-2009, 08:29 PM
I lock mine up with the Abus 59/12MKS140 chain lock combo. It can be found here --->>> http://www.lockitt.com/chain2.htm#ChainAbusExtreme

Note: They don't give the hardest chain and lock away. It's almost $300 bucks.

You can read more about the 59 series Abus locks here --->>> http://www.abus.de/us/main.asp?ScreenLang=us&sid=910717189021011220520097642731&select=0105b02&artikel=4003318248481m

SC Irrigator
05-21-2009, 08:30 PM
had mine stolen one time w/ dingo.....it sucked......but got it back though....

G. Ramey
05-21-2009, 08:33 PM
If I have to leave mine unattended for a few days I take a wheel off. I know you wouldn't want to do that every day. Have a shop built to put it in, then you wouldn't have to unload it every day.

Wizz
05-21-2009, 08:33 PM