PDA

View Full Version : Flagstone Over Concrete


PerfiCut L&L
05-26-2009, 05:40 PM
A customer of mine wanted to know if we could install a flagstone patio directly over her existing concrete patio. We've never done flagstone over concrete before, and am wondering if its a matter of just using a thin set for installation? My concern is what prep needs to be done to the existing concrete so the thin set will adhere well.

If this is not the preferred method, can anyone offer any suggestions?

Patio is approximately 15x25. Existing concrete is 4" (5bag) with wire mesh.

Thanks in advance.

DVS Hardscaper
05-26-2009, 06:49 PM
patio needs cleaned off


next, a liquid concrete prep chemical needs to be applied

PerfiCut L&L
05-26-2009, 08:28 PM
liquid concrete prep?

DVS Hardscaper
05-26-2009, 08:50 PM
correct.

available at any brick yard

and no, if there will be people walking over it - don't use a thinset


,

bigslick7878
05-29-2009, 01:54 AM
A customer of mine wanted to know if we could install a flagstone patio directly over her existing concrete patio. We've never done flagstone over concrete before, and am wondering if its a matter of just using a thin set for installation? My concern is what prep needs to be done to the existing concrete so the thin set will adhere well.

If this is not the preferred method, can anyone offer any suggestions?

Patio is approximately 15x25. Existing concrete is 4" (5bag) with wire mesh.

Thanks in advance.

Stone should be set in mortar,not thin set.