PDA

View Full Version : Tying in LV Christmas Lights to a 12V Transformer


MajesticOutdoorLighting
05-31-2009, 09:53 PM
Kind of a wierd question when it is hitting 90 degrees outside, but we have a client that wants us to run some wire out to a flower bed so she can plug in some christmas lights (in another 7 months). The idea is to be able to put these christmas lights on their own common circuit in the transformer so that she can turn off her LV landscape lights and turn on her LV christmas lights. Any suggestions on how this can be done? I am stumped as to how I am going to connect the christmas lights to the LV wire???

JoeyD
06-01-2009, 09:43 AM
Couldnt you just run a LV cable out there and stub it out in a Hub junction box and splice and connect when she is ready to hook up her christmas lights?

S&MLL
06-01-2009, 10:45 AM
Are Christmas lights low voltage?

JoeyD
06-01-2009, 11:03 AM
you can get 12v christmas lights....

http://www.christmaslightsetc.com/12-volt-Rope-Lights--131.htm

S&MLL
06-01-2009, 05:27 PM
Low Voltage Rope Light uses 2.52 watts per foot

Wow

David Gretzmier
06-02-2009, 12:24 AM
I would definetely figure out what wattage the LV christmas lights are, and size your circuit/wire accordingly. I'd also run some grey underground bury 10 or 12 guage solid wire in case she needs a 120 volt outlet out there.

djt22
06-02-2009, 07:16 PM
Depending on you total wattage of lights you could control this in one push of a button with ABT's Zone Control. Even if it is not 12volt lights.

MajesticOutdoorLighting
06-04-2009, 10:25 AM
We already stubbed out 2 12/2 gauge wires out to the flower bed and put two plugs on them. I am just not sure if you can just get 12V christmas lights and plug them in to these wires???

Pro-Scapes
06-04-2009, 08:57 PM
are they AC or DC lights ? she would need the specs on the lights and the amount of load required to do what she is wanting.

I too would run 120v power out there and then either make a simple service call to switch off the landscape lighting and switch on the holiday lines or place that 120v on either a simple aube switch or create a link in UPB to do what I wanted.

Whatever you do I would not allow or tell the client to just wire it up to your landscape lighting system. When it melts down from overload its your problem.