PDA

View Full Version : Retaining Wall Questions (Beginner)

ccas
06-09-2009, 06:12 AM
Okay, so I had a cheap builder on my first home. I didnt know all the right questions and things to have them look at.

Anyhow, they built a retaining wall on both sides of the walk out basement. Both sides sort of curve about 55 feet at a height of 5 and half feet. When they built it they used large boulder and just kind of stacked them half hazardly with large gaps between them. Needless to say after three years they are not retaining much and look like garbage.

I want to rebuild this wall with some nice rataining wall stones. I want to get rid of the boulder look. I am renting a 10,000 lb excavator at the end of the month. I was planning on relocating the boulders to another spot in my lawn. This leads me to my first question. Will a 10,000 lb excavator be large enough to move a boulder the size of a mini cooper?

My next question is in regards to building the wall. Being that I am not an expert, I was planning on building this 5 and a half foot wall in 2 levels sort of swooping into stairs in the middle. I think making 2 smaller walls for a novice may be easier than 1 taller wall and would give me some planting areas. Now my question....What type of footer do I need? Can I just use a paver base? Do I need to poor a concrete footer?

I know this is a lot and you will tell me to hire someone. However, I have the entire summer off and would love to do it myself.

Inspira
06-09-2009, 06:46 AM
Not a pro - another homeowner who's done my share of research. You're way off on the footer - you need crushed stone (QP). And if you went the full 5.5' height you'd need geogrid, but even if you split it, you have a lot going on there. Stairs are complicated, too. There is a lot of work behind the scenes with these walls, as I'm sure the guys on this board will soon tell you. Your initial questions tell me you have TONS of homework to do.