PDA

View Full Version : tweaking the RPM's


FYS777
06-11-2009, 12:04 AM
how many of you or any, have tweaked the RPM's on your mowers??

Jason Rose
06-11-2009, 12:23 AM
Always. Any mower I've bought, new and used, gets checked with a tach to be sure it's running at the proper rpm's. Too low = poor cut and it's harder on the drive system. Too low rpm's also is bad for the engine, if it dosn't turn fast enough, the fan isn't moving enough air to keep it properly cooled. Too fast is bad too, but the actual high rpm setpoint is debated, and varies depending on the machine. Most recommend 3600 rpm "no load". But some go as high as 3800 and as low as 3000. I keep everything as close to 3600 as I can.

FYS777
06-11-2009, 12:33 AM
Always. Any mower I've bought, new and used, gets checked with a tach to be sure it's running at the proper rpm's. Too low = poor cut and it's harder on the drive system. Too low rpm's also is bad for the engine, if it dosn't turn fast enough, the fan isn't moving enough air to keep it properly cooled. Too fast is bad too, but the actual high rpm setpoint is debated, and varies depending on the machine. Most recommend 3600 rpm "no load". But some go as high as 3800 and as low as 3000. I keep everything as close to 3600 as I can.

I agree, higher end is much better for sure.

lawnman7
06-11-2009, 02:05 AM
how do u tweek them?

LawnScapers of Dayton
06-11-2009, 07:06 AM
on the Kawi's there is a plate on the front of the engine that slides up and down......there are 2 screws that hold it in place. Loosen them and slide it up.......but make sure the throttle is set at full on before you do anything.

FYS777
06-11-2009, 09:11 AM
how do u tweek them?

ha ha, I should say almost every engine has a way to set the RPM's up or down to get maximum performance out of them, I have found that some times when mowers get older, or even new one's aren't running at high enough RPM's so you adjust them up so the engine runs faster,:clapping: another wards TWEAKED

Brad Ent
06-11-2009, 10:40 AM
We moved the plate and still can't get enough rpm our of our 23HP Kawi.
Should we try a shorter spring??

Brad Ent
06-11-2009, 10:41 AM
We moved the plate and still can't get enough rpm on our 23HP Kawi.
Should we try a shorter spring??

Corrected

LawnScapers of Dayton
06-11-2009, 03:15 PM
someone else will have to comment....never had that issue

dwost
06-11-2009, 03:43 PM
Not sure what the problem is. Could be a stuck or stretched cable? Check all the linkages and make sure nothing is binding. I've done this on every mower I've owned. I run mine at 3600 no load.

txgrassguy
06-11-2009, 05:05 PM
I have reset everything to run at 3200 max.
The heat where my crews operate is a killer on air cooled engines.
Today it was 102* by 1:30pm.
When I ran a golf course in NE PA some years back everything was set at 3550 max but I won't do that down here.