PDA

View Full Version : What do you think?

stewartje
06-12-2009, 11:51 AM
I am a solo operator and have three mowers. I have a 36" Bunton belt drive, a 48" Bunton hydro, and a 61" Great Dane Super Surfer. I cut only part time, but I have just about as much grass that I want to cut. I have a few larger properties, including my own. Most of what I cut is flat properties, some have a pretty good drainage ditch in the front, but not too bad. One property I cut is my own church and I have a section that I need to get a smaller mower through a gate, other than that, it is pretty wide open. I say all that to ask this...

My Super Surfer has been nickel and diming me as far as maintenance goes. I have found a very reputable dealer in the area that is willing to look at my equipment for a possible trade in. I definitely want to unload my Super Surfer...the 48" Bunton has been my back-up (and been more dependable this year). I am wondering though, would you recommend trading in both the 48" Bunton and the Super Surfer and get a zero-turn? I have my eye on a used Grasshopper 227. It has about 1,000 hours with a 61" cut and a 27 hp Kohler. The dealer tells me that the guy who traded it in was very meticulous on his maintenance of his machines.

Any ideas? Thanks in advance.

greenred
06-12-2009, 12:04 PM
If it was me I would keep the Bunton as a back up mower providing I could afford it. I like the peace of mind of insurance.

stewartje
06-15-2009, 05:40 PM
Let me update a new scenario...What about buying a used 61" Grasshopper with a 27hp Kohler motor or a new 61" Bad Boy with a 27hp Kohler motor? (keeping in mind that the used Grasshopper has about 1000 hours and is coming from a dealer vs. the Bad Boy being new but coming from Tractor Supply Company without the dealer support.) The mowers are within $150 of each other.

howardsells2000
06-15-2009, 10:23 PM