PDA

View Full Version : Redmax users helpful hints

TMlawncare
06-13-2009, 12:08 AM
Hey guys I have been using Redmax handhelds since 1994. God I miss the older stuff, damn EPA. Anyway I have several trimmers, hedge clippers, blowers, etc. The new stratocharged models have a few quirks that piss my employees and me off. First off the new trimmers have the guard so close you barely have any string to use, about 15," the old redmax trimmers gave you 18-20." Solution move the guard back about 1.5," you will not believe have much more control, balance, quality cut you will gain. Try it. Also, any Redmax owner will tell you that all the new, small trimmers, blowers are very cold blooded. When you start them they will bog, sometimes die and run like crap for the first minute or so. By doing this the machine is also carboning up. You will have to get it cleaned out in a couple months. Solution, well partial solution, my friend also a LCO told my about this and I just had to shake my head in disbelief. It could not really help. Well it really does. To cure the bogging or atleast help it get over its problem all you need to do is this. When you start it and it starts to bog, flip the machine upside down and hold it wide open. You will notice that it no longer bogs and runs extremely well. Let it run for a 10 seconds or upside down and your good to go. I still can not believe this works but hey my employees and I don't complain as much now.
One other things that is kinda strange is the bigger Redmax machines, backpack blowers, big chainsaws do not suffer nearly as bad with the bogging problems of the smaller displacement machines. Wonder why.
Anyway just thought I would share a few helpful Redmax tip with you. Remember move guards back 1.5" and if it boggs, don't worry just flip it upside down for 10seconds or so. Enjoy.