PDA

View Full Version : Scag TT vs Exmark NLZ 60" demo results...

jjurich
06-15-2009, 10:52 PM
I'm no pro, just a home user mowing 3 acres. I've been studying what all you pro's buy and these two brands seem to best fit my lawn, which is basically one long hill. I had been mowing with a Kubota FZ2400 72" 24hp diesel. It needed repairs for the 1st time in 8 years of me owning it, so sold it and started looking. And yes, these are probably both over kill, but I like buying quality and really want to minimize the time on the mower.

I demo'ed the 29/60 NLZ and the 29/60 scag TT as they hold the hills well, and both dealers are great here. Here are my observations that I'm sharing to try and give back to all those that have helped. I'm no expert, so here goes...

Exmark Pro's:
Air cooled engine has noticeable more torque.
Mowed much quicker then TT. Did lawn in 70m vs 90m on the TT.
Easier to control hydro's, less divets turning.
Seemed more stable on the hills and more maneuverable then the TT.
5 year residential warranty (2 yr engine).
Deck is easier to set height on by a tiny bit (rod that you turn on NLZ that lines up w/ a groove vs cotter pin on the TT that has to be pulled for it's rod).
Superior weight distribution vs TT.
Cut. Clipping smaller, though potentially not as dispersed as TT's.
0% financing for 3 years. This is nice even though I can pay cash, I'd just as soon get the interest from my credit union (4%). Yes, it is really is 4%.

Exmark Low's:
Had the ISO mounted seat and it wasn't even close to the comfort of the TT's full suspension seat. Coarse, I was mowing faster on the NLZ, but that doesn't account for all I felt.
Fuel consumption will be higher then the DFI TT, though less stuff to break.
Build just doesn't feel quite as nice compared to the tank like TT.

TT High's:
The ride on this thing was sweet! I can see how you could ride this all day vs being pretty shook up on the NLZ. My lawn has lots of natural aeration via moles :)