PDA

View Full Version : Help me understand why this didn't grow.

WHIPPLE5.7
06-16-2009, 07:52 PM
This is my first year hydroseeding and I have had extremely good success with what I've sprayed so far. My formula is to spead all the fert. by means of broadcast spreader and about 25% of my seed by spreader as well. I pretty much run the same fert.(18-18)and have had great results. The only thing I change is how much fert. I put down based upon how much water the area is going to be recieving and how often. On areas where its for something like erosion control I tend to use about 1/2 the fert. as I would with a yard that gets watered. As stated before my success has been high until now. A guy wanted me to put wild flower seed thru my machine so I asked him if it was going to be getting any water. He said no. I asked him if he knew how much if any fert. should be put down. He said the same amout as a lawn. I ended up using about less fert. because it was not going to be getting water other than rain. On the day I did it he said it was $3k worth of seed which made me nervous. Now I've been checking on it and its dead as a door nail. Help me figure it out. He hasn't said anything as I don't warranty this stuff but I'm curious why it didn't grow.

Think Green
06-16-2009, 09:41 PM