PDA

View Full Version : Box truck for mowing

ryde307
06-28-2009, 07:07 PM
Wondering for those who have or have used a box truck/van for mowing how much you like it?
Any negatives / positives? Some input would be nice.
We have a few trucks and have a 20ft enclosed right now looking to be smaller sell a few trucks and change this around think we are going to a box truck just curious your experiance with them. Thanks

MP350
06-28-2009, 08:38 PM
Pros...easy to get around in,especially in tight neighborhoods. Cons...harder to work out of, every time you have to get a tool you have to walk up a steep ramp. And if the ramp is wet very difficult to load/unload gear. And if the truck breaks down you are done, where with a trailer you switch trucks and keep working.Hope this helps.

landgator
06-28-2009, 08:46 PM
I've been using a box truck for a few months. I think it's great. Bringing the ramp up and down kinda sucks but you get used to it. The one negative is the cab. Mines a single cab, it's kinda cramped if your crew is big. Your gear is out of the weather and it's secured.

ryde307
06-29-2009, 05:38 PM
Thanks for the response. The pros are most of reason why we are going that route. Easy to get around and so on. We have an enclosed right now and wouldnt go back to an open set up. Great for staying dry winter storage ect..
I have back up truck and trailer in case it does break down and never thought to much about the ramp going up and down when wet.
What is your ramp made out of? Ours will be expanded steel like most and doesnt have a ton of grip but better than wood.

ryde307
06-29-2009, 05:39 PM
Do you guys that responded have any pics of your set ups how you run them and so on? And what lengths the boxes are?

MileHigh
06-29-2009, 06:19 PM
All the lame companies around here run them.

They also leave grass on the curb...which is not accepted around here.

LushGreenLawn
06-30-2009, 06:53 AM