PDA

View Full Version : leaf loader/non dump

jamaica plain
07-05-2009, 05:18 PM
Hi,
I've been searching for the last couple of day, and spending a few hours looking through the search option on the site for some information and have not been able to find it.
I have been doing maintenance for 4 years now. In the fall, my schedule is completely backed up and barely finished my work last year. I would like to buy a leaf loader this year to use with my f-350, which is NOT a dump truck.
The plan that I would like to follow is; buy a top of the line leaf loader (willing to spend to get performance), and figure out a way to dump the leaves from the back of my pick up. (I plan to to buy a dump truck in a year or two)
I don't want to buy and trailer for multiple reasons.
I would like to know how to unload an 8 yard box that will sit in my bed? Are there ways of making some sort of box that will sit in the back of my truck and dump?
I have used tarps in years past, but don't expect to be able to with the use of a leaf loader this year.

2low4NH
07-06-2009, 07:22 AM
i guess you can put a pallet against the back wall hook a chain to it and pull it out when your read to unload. i wouldnt want to do this. i have a decent leaf loader and it packs the leaves in. i would want to rake them out either theres alot of leaves in 6 yards plus. even with a half full truck which is most residental yards around here the bottom half packs right down when you open the gate you dont lose a single leaf

jamaica plain
07-06-2009, 11:03 AM
Thanks for the note. I hadn't thought of the pallet idea. Something to think about.
Do you unload your leaves by rake after they have been loaded by a leaf loader? How long would it take a couple of guys to unload a fully loaded and packed load?
I have been unloading my leaves by rake, pitchfork, and tarp in the past, I just don't know if it a feasible option with leaves loaded with a leaf loader.

2low4NH
07-06-2009, 02:58 PM