PDA

View Full Version : Tips for getting started

eXlawns
07-10-2009, 12:04 AM
Hello everyone! This is my first post but I have been reading posts on here for months.

I have decided to start my lawn business part/full time next spring and looking for specific tips on bidding for jobs, tips and techniques on best practices. Marketing tips and finally the hardest decision I have been working on at what point do I decide to go full time or part time.

A little bit about me. I have my MBA and have been running a large car rental store for over a year. I have been working for this company for 2 1/2 years. I am married and my wife has a very stable job as a CPA. My job requires me to be excellent at sales and service but it is more important to understand the numbers (break even, operating profit, gross profit, profit margins, and depreciation).
My undergrad was in HR so I have an inside track on understanding employee relationships (workers comp, medical, training and development, and employee retention.

I understand business and have always loved and appreciated lawn care. With the barriers to entry being so low with lawn care standing out amongst your competition is even more important i.e. MARKETING

I have put together flyers, business cards, website, email and my start date is April 1st. Currently I have 3 residential accounts and 1 commercial account and got them even before I purchased my first ZTR, trailer, blower and trimmer.

I purchased a 48" quik-trak 21" toro commercial mower stihl 600 blower and 90 trimmer. Got a truck and trailer and have loved my days off of my full time job just to jump on the ZTR and make money.

Time for the questions:

RESIDENTIAL
When do I send out the mailers and go out with the flyers? I have put together a list of residential accounts in specific areas around my community but have no idea on when they will be the most effective.
COMMERCIAL