PDA

View Full Version : Buying an Existing Business

BrettF
07-11-2009, 12:20 PM
Starting to give real consideration to buying one or two existing lawn care businesses in a given area. I'd greatly appreciate any thoughts on how to properly value an existing lawncare/landscape maint. business, experiences anyone has had buying an existing business, questions that should have been asked, but weren't, how you retained customers, where you found opportunities to create efficiencies, performance metrics, etc.

At the risk of getting pummelled, I'll tell you that I'm a lawyer in the banking and financial services industry. That I ended up doing that is almost a Forrest Gump story because I grew up in the midwest, in the country down a gravel road and should have been a farmer! :hammerhead: It's time for me to move on to the next phase of life and I'm attracted to the mix of owning my own business and getting back outdoors to make my living.

Anyway, as I said, I'd greatly appreciate reading about any of your experiences in buying an existing business.

PROCUT1
07-11-2009, 09:12 PM
Youre not going to make $350 an hour cutting grass.

What are you thinking?

wls
07-12-2009, 12:33 AM
I'd be real careful and do your homework. Make sure you are not overpaying for the equipment. If you think you are buying the name of the company, make sure it is a name you want to own and has a good reputation. Don't take the word of the seller that all the customers are happy and will stick around. DON'T OVERPAY FOR ACCOUNTS! Think of how much advertising you can do for the price that is being asked for the accounts.

Not sure of your financial situation but don't plan to make money for awhile.

I won't go into my whole story but have some experience in what you are thinking about doing and learned some lessons the hard way. There is money to be made in this business but there is A LOT to learn - it is much more than mowing lawns!

triadpm
07-12-2009, 01:22 PM