PDA

View Full Version : Pump help

CleanCutMowers
07-18-2009, 12:16 AM
I am new to spraying. Yes I am licensed and this is my first year. I started all granular but came across a good deal and I am ready to add 2 liquid apps to my program.
Anyway, I have a centrifugal pump set-up and for now all I am doing is lawns so it should work fine. The system has no control valves except for the aggitation valve. Can someone point me in the direction of what i need? Also I have attached a couple of pictures. Please make any suggestions you want. I am also looking for hose. Will 1/2 " be fine?

Here is some I came across......
http://www.rittenhouse.ca/asp/menu.asp?MID=265

Thanks

CleanCutMowers
07-18-2009, 12:24 AM
Here's the pics

RAlmaroad
07-18-2009, 06:55 AM
First, that's a roller pump with a 6:1 reduction gear on the engine. That brown line is coming out of the tank, so you've got the hoses backwards by the "Rotation on the Pump Arrows". Can't tell which is your return(agitation) or which is your product but that valve should be on your boom or hand spray wand controlling it and let the agitation relief use the excess . These put out a lot of pressure and good volume.; I use them on a big boom for pastures, fences, and trees in TN. You should be putting down 2 gallons/1000sq ft. for your fertilize and more up to 5gallon/K for fungicides. I suggest that you get a pressure gauge on both the pressure at the pump and the pressure on the wand or boom.
What do you need specifically? You need to know the type of turf, your type of weeds, trees and folliar plants, what works on warm seasoned grasses does not work on cool season grasses, but you're probably cool seasoned grass as fescue and bluegrass.