PDA

View Full Version : Stressed out

hustlerburn
07-23-2009, 12:17 AM
Alright guys,

I am to that point.......I am sick of jobs going over on time, hearing excuse after excuse why things are taking too long. What is with the kids these days? Are they lazy? It seems if i am not on the jobs it doesnt get done in due time. It means then i cant sell jobs while i am there babysitting.

I graduated 5 years ago in La Design, worked for the 10 years at one company running crews and learning all about the installation part of things. I was fortunate enough to be a part of many jobs that have been featured in many of the brochures for brick and block that everyone uses. So i have had alot of experience in that part. A year ago i decided that i needed to get in more of the design and selling part of things.
I made a move one for myself and two for the wife, she was just getting done with her masters, and in an area where we thought we would find her a job. But right now i am regretting everything.
I can sell my a s off on just design, lately i have been the higher bid, but have gotten the job just on the design or quality of my porfolio. But that all really doesnt matter when jobs dont get done when needed be. I cant go back and ask the costumer for another 3 k because the guys took to long?

What do you do? i have tried to be the nice guy, i tried being the d ck. I am to the point where i could do it myself and forget it all.

Anyone in the MN twin cities looking for designers? I might relocate at this point.

Mid-Ohio Scaper
07-23-2009, 12:21 AM
How do you pay, by the hour or by the job?

hustlerburn
07-23-2009, 12:24 AM
by the hour, which yeah my labor cost of course are higher, but yet that means my commison drops if i go over on hours.

Its not a thing where i am bidding too low, because with all my estimates i allow for some wiggle room but it seems like they know how to push the limits of my alotted time, if not go over.

Mid-Ohio Scaper
07-23-2009, 09:07 AM