PDA

View Full Version : Some More Drainage Help

GravelyGuy
07-23-2009, 10:21 PM
Thanks for those that helped me out with the last drainage job I had going, it turned out well. I have another job here, actually several more, but we'll start slow here.

You can see in the pictures where the water comes out of the downspout and collects by the grill. I was thinking I could simply run a piece of tubing off of the down spout 10-15' away from the spot and make some kind of dry well. I've never done a dry well before so let me know what you think.

Dreams To Designs
07-24-2009, 08:53 AM
Check out NDS products, especially the Flo-Well. A catch basin at the bottom of the downspout, with some 4" PVC pipe to a properly installed Flo-Well will make that area usable again. You do have to perform some soil analysis and calculations, but the NDS Pro website will guide you.

http://ndspro.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=frontpage&Itemid=17

If you can, it is always best to run the downspout tubing to open air if you can get the right pitch and have a place for the pipe to empty, that won't cause another problem.The use of a Pop-up emitter will make the outlet a cleaner, less obtrusive option. I like to add a few feet of perforated pipe, a sock and some drainage rock leading up to the Pop-up. This method allows a majority of the outflow to percolate right into the ground and has prevented any Pop-ups from freezing or malfunctioning.

Kirk

White Gardens
07-25-2009, 03:15 PM
What is the grade like on the other side of the fence (behind the grill)

GravelyGuy
07-26-2009, 12:12 PM
Check out NDS products, especially the Flo-Well. A catch basin at the bottom of the downspout, with some 4" PVC pipe to a properly installed Flo-Well will make that area usable again. You do have to perform some soil analysis and calculations, but the NDS Pro website will guide you.

http://ndspro.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=frontpage&Itemid=17