PDA

View Full Version : Not getting in over my head

budman163
07-29-2009, 11:12 AM
This is my first year as a part-timer. I got a late start and don't have as many accounts as I would like. I have 6 full time accounts for about $600/month, and a temp. account with a house that is for sale. I am still trying to grow my business and am financing the business out of my own pocket (gas, oil, etc.)

I financed a new ZTR with payments of $145/month. I paid cash for other quality commercial equipment, some new, some slightly used but good as new. I have enough money saved up to make my payments for a year.

I have been thinking about the upcoming fall and doing fall cleanups, but I don't have a bagger. I have decided not to spend the $2000 for a vacuum bagger so that I don't get in over my head, but I don't want to miss out on any opportunities for the lucrative fall cleanups.

My questions are:

1. What are your thoughts on my decision to hold off on more big purchases in order to not get in over my head?

2. Any suggestions on efficiently doing fall cleanups without a bagger?

I guess I want my cake and eat it too. If next season goes as I plan, I will buy a bagger before next fall.

Your thoughts will be greatly appreciated.

g21
07-29-2009, 06:01 PM