PDA

View Full Version : Hello from CT!..Considering lawncare profession

JohnW1968
07-29-2009, 01:02 PM
Hello everyone..My name is John from Danbury, CT. I AM NOT currently involved in this industry but have been considering it for some time.

I've been a heavy equipment mechanic for some time as well as a regular mechanic prior to that! I just recently had rotator cuff surgery and out of work until at least Oct/Nov.

My doctor informed me that I have the shoulder of a 60 year old and I am only 40! This got me thinking of a career change and lawn care as well as some residential plowing in the winter sounded like it may be right for me. My only hesitation is the "income" change..but I'm only making $30 per hour with my present employer and sure it can be surpassed in due time in this industry.

I'm sure I'll be looking thru the archives here on lawnsite for many days absorbing information!!

I'm always open to advice and pointers during this consideration of career change. Thank you

John W.

Brad Ent
07-29-2009, 01:48 PM
Welcome!
I'm not sure this industry is going to be any easier on your body than being a mechanic.
From the outside this industry looks fun: self employed, working in the great outdoors, trucks, trailers, equipment, etc.
Like any profession, you gotta enjoy what you're doing or stick with it until you get to where you want to go.
My suggestion is gear up now for Fall clean-ups.
In Oct. place a small add in the local weekly paper and hire a couple of young strong guys that want to make some extra cash.
If you have a truck you can plow with offer plowing in the ad.
Start off part-time and build a solid customer base.

JohnW1968
07-29-2009, 05:19 PM
Welcome!
I'm not sure this industry is going to be any easier on your body than being a mechanic.
From the outside this industry looks fun: self employed, working in the great outdoors, trucks, trailers, equipment, etc.