PDA

View Full Version : Anyone for Carpenter Ants????

bx24
07-29-2009, 03:45 PM
Okay I have been using Talstar for about 4 years (up in Ma and Tx) and worked mint. This year in MA I am having issues with Carpenter ants in my own home..Not a huge issue but it, I think , is due to all the rain and me spraying the complete yard. Look for water, scouting etc...Or Bifenthrin is washed out (the residue) on the house outline...

So my questions is would using Termidor SC be better or wasting time, money etc. Seems like Bifen does the same thing..

I did a search and come up with a mix..This is not for lawns so that I do not care.

Thx

coiclawn
07-29-2009, 03:56 PM
Instead of blasting the exterior of your house, why not locate the nest and eliminate the problem?

bug-guy
07-29-2009, 04:04 PM
carpenter ants are tough ... bait usually does not work as they are less aggressive and the more agressive ones will get the bait... spraying is not too effective since most only are active from dusk to dawn.
my advice is to go out at night and locate them tracking and find the nest.
if this proves difficult and they are tracking you could spray them with one of the non-repellants that will transfer to colony mates and be done with it in a few days

bx24
07-29-2009, 04:04 PM
Instead of blasting the exterior of your house, why not locate the nest and eliminate the problem?

Well I have tried that and I have woods on 3 sides on my house...I know the trails on my property but that is it *can travel over 200 feet*. I do not have time & energy to spend hours looking all over and NOT on my property.

I am 90% they are living outside and not in the house.

I would not be "blasting the house since I would only use the lower rates...I am using the baits concurrently till I get an good answer on the orginal question.

bx24
07-29-2009, 04:06 PM