PDA

View Full Version : Pricing a yard for mowing

calvarylandscapegroup
08-04-2009, 11:55 AM
Hey people,
I have a question about pricing yards out to be cut. I live in Cleveland Ohio, this is my first year owning a landscaping business, but have been in the field for about eight years now. I have a handful of mowing accounts, but I feel like I am pricing them out to cheap, I guess my mentalilty is to price cheap to get the account but in return i don't really make nothing. So if I can get an idea on how much to charge for a residential yard, and a commercial account.

Also with fall clean-ups coming how do you price that out. Thanks everyone!

Ben'sLawnCare
08-04-2009, 12:11 PM
Well you need to find out how much it costs you to mow each yard then charge more. You have to know your break even number before you can price something to make money. If you break even at $20 on a small yard than charge 35-40 and so on and so forth. If you have to make $20/per hour to break even than charge 40/hr to make money. Hope that helps some and I hope I explained that right.

KathysLGC
08-04-2009, 12:31 PM
Figure out how long it takes you to mow the lawn. Lets use the $20.00 her hour example. Say it take you 30 minutes to cut that lawn, how long did it take you to get there? You have to charge for road time as well. Now think about how much gas you used in your truck and equipment just to mow that lawn. Now think about your equipment value. Why does that have to come out of your pocket? Based on the example I gave I would be charging $40.00.

You have to add all these small charges into the price.
Example, a 30 minute lawn for me is easily a $75.00 lawn.

calvarylandscapegroup
08-04-2009, 12:38 PM