PDA

View Full Version : Anyone been rejected due to lack of personnel?

SunsationalLandServices
08-12-2009, 07:02 PM
I put in a bid on a property this week and was turned down since they "went with a larger crew" and "thought the job may be too much for me". Am I right for being insulted or is that just the way it goes? The property was 1.5 acres, mostly open lawn area, some tight spots, and hedge trimming monthy. I bid it at $60/wk mowing & $60/mo hedge trimming. I figured this bases on 2hrs @ $30/hr. I admit I am kinda new to this and it is just me, but I've done similar jobs and know I am perfectly capable of handling it, plus I have good equipment - 60" chopper and all stihl equip. in a very nice enclosed trailer. Oh well, just venting I suppose!

Jimslawncareservice
08-12-2009, 07:15 PM
your equipment is more than enough. i have seen people mow more acres with a 36'' wb. in one day i have mowed 12 acres at 4 sites with a 445 jd tractor mower and 54'' deck. NOt sure what to tell you. maybe they under bid you and didn't want to say that. seems a little cheap too, but i don't don't know your area

SunsationalLandServices
08-12-2009, 07:51 PM
That's what I can't figure out. I went a little low due to the fact that it is just me (lower overhead). A crew of 3 or 4 would have to be more?!

LouisianaLawnboy
08-12-2009, 08:05 PM
your equipment is more than enough. i have seen people mow more acres with a 36'' wb. in one day i have mowed 12 acres at 4 sites with a 445 jd tractor mower and 54'' deck. NOt sure what to tell you. maybe they under bid you and didn't want to say that. seems a little cheap too, but i don't don't know your area

48 acres wirh an old ride on. No WAY.
Posted via Mobile Device

Greenboy24
08-12-2009, 08:28 PM
12 acres at 4 different sites = 3 acres per stop assuming they were all the same size....at least that is how I read it

Triplex
08-12-2009, 08:49 PM