PDA

View Full Version : Newbie in New England

Ole' Hickory
08-22-2009, 08:19 PM
Greetings from the BayState,

Not quite ready to swing open the doors but I will be starting off on my own in "The Biz" and just wanted to say hi and thanks for all the helpful posts in the past - long time reader. LOTS of good advice and informaion here.
Right now I'm still running a crew of 4 in a mid-size landscape Co. Been Landscaping for 3 years, I've been craigslisting for 2 years now and I'm fairly confident that with e few more odds and ends I'll have all the equipment to get things started on my own.

Current Equipment:
12X6 Enclosed Trailer
48" Scag Walk Behind
21" Areins sp Mower
Shindy & Husky String Trimmers
8hp TracVac Truck Loader Leaf Vac
5hp MTD walk behind Leaf Blower
Shindy Backpack Blower
Stihl Cainsaw
Echo Pole Saw
Husky Stick Edger
RedMax Hedge Trimmers

Still out there looking for some deals before I start in with the insurance and licensing and all. Have a name idea but thats a secret! I have an OK thing going with what I have now,-employed, but I understand that the only real money out there is the dough that we make for ourselves. I WANT MY PIECE!
My advertising will start with the small plasticboard signs and business cards, If the phone doesn't ring I'll begin "Phase 2" = mailing postcards, if it still doesn't happen I'll cry and beg! Hopefully word-of-mouth sets in.
If theres anyone in the area that could give some serious suggestions or advice on a startup in the current Mass economic env. -All is appreciated.
Credit is so/so and the money isn't there, but I'm going to stay with this.
I'll be part-time by Spring Cleanups, (Is February a good time to start advertising for that?) but if things work out, full-time at Fall Cleanups.
I have no overhead, equipment is paid for and in almost new condition.
I hope the business is out there.