PDA

View Full Version : New here & couldn't have done it without lawnsite!

asps4u
08-25-2009, 12:55 PM
Hello, I thought I'd take a sec to tell my story. My name is JR and I'm new in the business this year. I'm located in Commerce, Michigan. This is a side business for me, I have a full time job running 3 family businesses for the last 13 years, so I have a lot of "business experience". I've always loved taking care of my own property and growing up I did a lot of work in the green industry for friends, family and neighbors. I started out last summer by taking care of some bank owned properties just as a one time deal (with my tractor) to help out a friend who was the loan officer at that bank. This year she asked if I wanted to take care of them all season. Of course, never one to turn down an opportunity to make money, I said yes and decided to start an LLC and see if I could grow this to do full time. I sold my tractor on craigslist by just putting "make offer" on it and ended up getting $500 more than I paid for it brand new a year prior. I bought some used commercial equipment (Ferris 36" wb, and an Echo PB755-T backpack blower) to get me started. I already had my trimmer from home and a 6.5 x 12 enclosed trailer to use. After working a few months, I currently have 12 accounts with three more residential customers adding next week and two more local banks just committed to use me exclusively for their properties which they estimate to be about 20-30 properties. I have just purchased a used 7' x 16' tandem axle trailer and a used 61" zero turn that I could pay cash for (and not carry any debt), to help me run more efficiently since this is something I do after work and on the weekends. I am outfitting my trailer today with all my racks, (that I bought on ebay, to keep costs down) & I will be buying a plow to put on my truck for the winter, since I have commitments already for plowing, and also I have family in the business that want to subcontract me to plow fo