PDA

View Full Version : seeding with K31

teejet
08-26-2009, 08:11 PM
does anyone still use K31 at all? I am new to seeding and I am going to by mostly millennium fescue. I am debating buying some k31 because it is cheap, also I have some lawns that already have it in them,and I thought it would blend better. I have read it sucks anyone is this true?

RigglePLC
08-26-2009, 08:52 PM
Very true--K-31 sucks. It has a very wide blade and poor agronomic properties. It was popular in the 1950's. Go with a top TTTF cultivar, like "Aztec".

grass4gas
08-26-2009, 08:54 PM
I am probably in the minority here, but some of the best lawns that I have seen through the years are k-31 lawns. Once established, they are pretty much bullet proof.

They can and do have some issues with brown patch, but so do some of the other TTTF lawns. K-31 is also very durable and can take a good deal of abuse once established.

I use it for fenced areas that have heavy traffic such as dogs, play areas and such. Most people are turned off because of the wide blades.

Take it for what it's worth.

EVM
08-26-2009, 09:02 PM
I am probably in the minority here, but some of the best lawns that I have seen through the years are k-31 lawns. Once established, they are pretty much bullet proof.

They can and do have some issues with brown patch, but so do some of the other TTTF lawns. K-31 is also very durable and can take a good deal of abuse once established.

I use it for fenced areas that have heavy traffic such as dogs, play areas and such. Most people are turned off because of the wide blades.

Take it for what it's worth.

K-31 is tuff as nails. Any of you guys try Titan Limited TF? Very good stuff

LIBERTYLANDSCAPING
08-26-2009, 09:26 PM