PDA

View Full Version : New here - cancer brought me back to landscaping

ragejg
08-31-2009, 12:03 AM
"Cancer brought you back to landscaping? What?"

lol

Hi folks. My name is John and I'm a serial landscaper. One of the greatest joys in my life is helping make a homeowner happier with the appearance of their property. In 2005 I worked my first season with Price Landscaping in Naples NY... a somewhat laid-back outfit with approx. 12 employees. I mowed and did some light landscaping, and also helped with plowing/shoveling in the winter. I was in my late twenties, and at the time I took the job, I just needed a job. I had previously worked as a professional in the field of industrial electronics and did some time as a chef and a cattle hauler, but I was never really satisfied with what I was doing. Being on a mow crew gave me my first glimpse into the potential satisfaction of being a landscaper.

Into the '05 plow season I realized that I wasn't making enough money doing what I was doing, so I started cooking soups for a local sandwich shop and hauled lumber for a while.

Then the desk job itch came back, regrettably. So I started as a Creative Director at a successful software company, doing web design and marketing work. It was very un-gratifying, but I made decent scratch.

In early 2007 I was diagnosed with cancer(9 lb tumor in abdomen caused by two kinds of testicular cancer, and tumors in my chest from a rare form of sarcoma), and subsequently went through 3 major surgeries and twelve rounds of three different 3-drug chemotherapy regimens. I was given a lifetime-dose of most all of my cancer drugs, as my case had no real research data, so they basically just dumped as much chemo on me as possible. I wasn't supposed to make it out of this.

After an October 2008 round of chemo, I was declared "in remission" in November. My road to recovery had many miles left, however.