PDA

View Full Version : Questions/Advice

johnc8407
09-02-2009, 04:11 PM
You could say I am just starting out. I helped my uncle mow for years when I was a teen. My wife started nursing school so our only income is my full time job. A few months ago I started trying to get some lawns for extra income and I have 8 as of now. I love mowing and take pride in my work. I want to expand and get more accounts and have been passing out business cards and flyers. Have some questions for the pros if you don't mind.

1) Do you charge by the cut or do you offer a monthly rate? I have a couple accounts that I charge a monthly rate and collect at the beginning of the month and cut every 10 days. If its a $40 yard, I offer a monthly rate of $105 to cut every 10 days. Anyone have comments on this. Should I keep doing this or stop? Am I loosing too much money by offering this? My thought was the customer likes the DISCOUNT part and maybe helps me keep the account since they pay up front each month.

2) Anyone offer any type of online payment? If so, what? Paypal or is there anything else? Do customers like this better than writing a check? And how long does it take you to get your money after they pay? Thinking about starting to offer this but want opinions from the experienced guys on here.

3) Business Name - I went through a few names and decided on Cleveland Lawns. Other choices were Cleveland Lawns & Pressure Washing, Johns Lawn Care & Pressure Washing and others like that. My thought was keep it short for prospects/customers to remember easily. Anyone have input/thoughts on if its a bad idea to use any of MY name in the business name?

4) Did you file as a LLC or anything like that? Should I? Why and Why Not. I am thinking of becoming an LLC. That way I am protected if I ever get in trouble or some a** hole wants to try and sue me saying I messed up his lawn just because he wants a new one.