PDA

View Full Version : Upper class subdivison and brown grass

theheisk
09-03-2009, 04:52 PM
Hey i am fairly new to the lawncare game and learn alot through this website...which is awesome! My question is there is a very nice subdivision in my area that evey lawn is brown. Can anyone tell me why as i am very curious. Its been very wet this year and everyones yard is green except these.
Posted via Mobile Device

Two Seasons
09-03-2009, 06:52 PM
Cutting it too short would be my guess. That and zero fert.

kirk1701
09-03-2009, 10:46 PM
Cutting it too short would be my guess. That and zero fert.

Or just the opposite, all the homes in the subdivision used TruGreen which fertilized the hell out of them in Mid August when we had this breif short dry spell and hot weather :laugh:

I say that because TruGreen was just across the street from me about a two weeks ago and back again this week :dizzy:

baddboygeorge
09-04-2009, 12:08 AM
Cheap ass builders using a builders grade sod , its a blend an cant handle the heat , with no irrigation guess wat i turns brown,,,, Great area to Market Irrigation!

Smallaxe
09-04-2009, 10:05 AM
Good area to market almost anything. I would go around the neighborhood and tell them you are curious as to why their lawns are brown.
Most likely they will started ragging about something they think is the cause, then you can, offer them the solution.

Central Island Lawn
09-05-2009, 10:37 AM
If I were to make a guess I would say improper installation with poor or no irrigation. Take a shovel to one and dig a hole 8 inches deep, it'll tell you all you need to know. There is a guy in my town who landscaped the first phase of a subdivision in my area. He used rocky fill and lay his own crappy sod on top. No soil, no sand. The irrigation systems were not properly designed and the pipes were installed in rocks. He was more than likely the lowest bidder. Needless to say, the only guy who has a desent lawn in that neighbourhood did his own landscaping.