PDA

View Full Version : Starting out

mattman683
09-07-2009, 05:15 PM
Hi, i've been cutting grass on a farm for the past 2 years on an Exmark lazer z. Now I am starting up a lawn care company for next year. I have some very nice brochures and business cards and other advertising items. Now here is my problem! I'm having trouble getting people to sign up!!! I've gone door to door but most people already have someone they use. What's the secret?!?!?

Any input would be great!!!

Thanks!
Matt

STIHL GUY
09-07-2009, 05:31 PM
get your name out there and make sure you always leave a property looking great. a lot of busisness comes from word of mouth

hockeypro1411
09-07-2009, 06:35 PM
I think your problem is that you're in Ohio and trying to get customers in September. Typically most people don't want the hassle of getting rid of the old guy and hiring a new one this late in the season. Really hit the advertising hard in the spring.

Mowbizz
09-07-2009, 06:35 PM
Hi, i've been cutting grass on a farm for the past 2 years on an Exmark lazer z. Now I am starting up a lawn care company for next year. I have some very nice brochures and business cards and other advertising items. Now here is my problem! I'm having trouble getting people to sign up!!! I've gone door to door but most people already have someone they use. What's the secret?!?!?

Any input would be great!!!

Thanks!
Matt

You will need to advertise in a local paper...or leave cards or brochures on mailboxes or door handles...there is a pretty big turn around in this business and you will get calls, eventually....
There's always someone looking for a bargain or a better service...some are unhappy with their present service and will make the jump. Usually it's better to hit the advertising hard in early spring...that's when people are "starting" to think about their lawns (in the Northeast anyway).