PDA

View Full Version : Landscape fabric under patio

little green guy
07-21-2000, 10:04 PM
I have a cutomer who wants me to use fabric under here patio, I never used it before and I don't think it's nessasary. What do you guys think?

steveair
07-21-2000, 10:33 PM
Hello,<p>and the answer is &quot;YES&quot;<p>Certain installation require the fabric. Some instances are wet, spongy soils, sandy soils, and sometimes very heavy traffic areas.<p>The fabric will help to keep the patio from settling over time. I just got a client who wants me to do a patio/drive at here shore house in New jersey, and I am going to quote it with fabric. The soil is very sandy and the fabric is a must....<p>I'm not a engineer and can't give you specifics, but I can say that if they call for it then use it. I'm sure stone or paul can give you some more run down on the fabric also.<p>steveair

Lanelle
07-21-2000, 11:56 PM
The fabric helps to create a stable base for your patio by helping to distribute the load evenly and keeping the base from sinking into the sub-base. We have clay soil here and the gravel will sink into the clay over time. The fabric should be a woven geo-textile made for this purpose--not weed barrier fabric.

FIREMAN
07-22-2000, 08:20 AM
Steveair,<br> You are wise to use fabric at the shore, everything there settles. I did a driveway at my inlaws place at the shore. I spoke to as friend that does work at the shore all the time before I did the install, he recommended adding at least 3 inches more base then normal and compacting the base with a vibratory roller instead of the usual plate compactor. I followed his advice and have not seen any heaving or settling in 4 years even after this was emersed in 12 inches of water during huricane floyd( the water sat on it for 3 days before finally draining away. just my 2 cents.

Stonehenge
07-22-2000, 09:27 AM