PDA

View Full Version : help with aerating

ukcats
09-08-2009, 06:43 PM
This is my first year mowing alone. I had a customer ask about aerating and putting down fertilizer and seed. My question is after I aerate the lawn and put some fertilizer down with the seeds will I need to cover it with straw or compost?
Or since I aerated just lay the fertilizer down and seed and let it go. Going to do this end of Sept first of Oct I'm in central pa and was wondering whats a good fertilizer to put down and good seed?

atouchofnature
09-08-2009, 10:01 PM
Over the years I have used a lot of different methods to varying degrees of success. I'm going to give you a few different answers to your question. I'm sure that other people will have other ideas, and theirs may or may not be better. What I am telling you is based upon my personal experience.

The cheapest method - apply 1 lb. urea + 1 lb. 19-19-19 per 1000 sq. ft. Go over the lawn 3 times with the aerator overall, and go over it an additional 2 times with the aerator in bare/thin spots. In my experience, you can expect about 35 - 40% seed germination if watering is done properly with this method. You can boost germination by another 10% or so if you put a thin layer of topsoil over the seed in thin areas and roll the entire lawn afterwards.

The organic method - Go over the lawn 3 times with aerator, an additional 2 times in thin/bare areas. Topdress entire lawn with compost. Spray with compost tea. Use a good organic fertilizer at a rate to get about 3/4 lb. nitrogen per 1000 square feet. I personally like to use alfalfa meal, as it has a natural hormone that will improve seedling vigor. In my experience, you can expect around 50 - 60% germination with this method if watering is done properly.