PDA

View Full Version : Blue Spruce Problems

GravelyGuy
09-09-2009, 11:35 PM
Anyone have an idea what is wrong with this tree? The brown color may be caused by the the sprinkler system. Everything on this property is brown from the heavy iron in the water, but you can see that this tree is also very thin on the North side where the brown is.

Maybe the sprinklers are hitting this spot and causing this?

You can also see that the tree has a lot of sap dripping down the trunk if this makes any difference.

GravelyGuy
09-09-2009, 11:38 PM
The stripes I laid in the background of the first pic look pretty damn good haha.:laugh:

FYS777
09-10-2009, 12:57 AM
here is a link that might be the problem...
http://www.treehelp.com/trees/spruce/spruce-cytospora-canker.asp

Lite4
09-10-2009, 08:09 AM
I am by no means a tree expert but when I see sap and brown thin spots it immediatly makes me think insects. Couldn't tell you which though. I am sure someone else on here can give you more insight though.

VO Landscape Design
09-10-2009, 02:55 PM
I am thinking Spider Mites. Had that look on the neighbors evergreens.
VO

GravelyGuy
09-10-2009, 10:28 PM
here is a link that might be the problem...
http://www.treehelp.com/trees/spruce/spruce-cytospora-canker.asp

This could be it, but it says that it starts around the bottom in the link. You can see this didn't start at the very bottom. They even mention the white sap that I have pictured though. Hmm.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I am thinking Spider Mites. Had that look on the neighbors evergreens.
VO

Wouldn't you see the tiny little webs?

Thank for the help guys.

GrazerZ
09-26-2009, 02:07 PM
Looks like spruce needle cast. the irrigation could make the problem worse. If thats what it is, it can spread to other trees and needs treatment with fungicide.

Think Green
09-28-2009, 10:51 PM
Ryan,